Kitchen Reveal: Blinded by the Light

This was what our kitchen looked like in the beginning. Isn’t she lovely?

The kitchen and I have had a bit of a love/hate relationship. Mostly because I’m not a fan of doing the dishes. Least favorite chore ever. Even with a dishwasher. Also, I eat to live these days. Definitely don’t live to eat. I’m breastfeeding my little guy, and he reacts to dairy in my diet. Ugh, it’s no fun. I haven’t had cheesy goodness or milk or icecream for 3 MONTHS! That being said, I’m not really “into” cooking lately. BUT none of that really has to do with the design or function of the space, now does it? Well, a year and a half later we have this:

And the design, I love. The clean lines of the cabinetry (No, they are not from IKEA. We get asked that sometimes), the frosted panel inserts, granite counters, stainless steel, the cute saying above the stove, the pops of color… Mmm, mmm, mmmm! Really, the only problem we had with the kitchen was the amount of sunlight that blinded us a significant part of the morning. Don’t get me wrong, we love natural light but…  I actually considered wearing my sunglasses to stand at the kitchen sink.

And we have lived like that since we moved in. Until now… I finally decided to spend $27 dollars on a shade/blind from Wal-Mart and fell head-over-heals in love with my kitchen again! PS – I hung that baby myself!

It still looks crazy bright in the pictures, but you have no idea how much it has helped tone it down some. Plus the space feels finished. And of course functional. Crazy what one little shade can do.

Leave a Reply

